SME Elects 6 Manufacturing Leaders to 2013 College of Fellows.

Press Release Summary:

SME elected 6 members to its College of Fellows, and 2013 Fellows will be honored at SME's Fall Awards and Installation Banquet on November 9, 2013 in Dearborn, MI. Members comprising 2013 Class of SME Fellows include M. Helmi Attia, PhD, FSME; Doug Genord, FSME; John W. Gillespie Jr., PhD, FSME; Vincent W. Howell Sr., FSME, CMfgE; Yeau-Ren Jeng, PhD, FSME; and Prof. Dr. Ir. Bert Lauwers, FSME. Deadline for 2014 Fellows nominations is December 1, 2013.

Original Press Release:

Six Manufacturing Leaders Elected to the 2013 SME College of Fellows

SME Elects Distinguished Engineers, Researchers and Educators to New Class of Fellows

Dearborn, Mich. – SME has elected six outstanding members to its prestigious College of Fellows. The 2013 class joins the more than 360 other SME members who have been elected as Fellows since the program's inception in 1986, and represents various segments of manufacturing. The 2013 Fellows will be honored at SME's Fall Awards and Installation Banquet, held in Dearborn, Mich., November 9, 2013.

"The 2013 Class of Fellows represents the best and the brightest from both industry and academia – all of whom have dedicated their highly respected careers to engineering and manufacturing. Their commitment to SME and to advancing manufacturing is both admirable and impressive," said 2013 SME President Dennis S. Bray, PhD, FSME.

An SME Fellow is a member recognized by their peers and the manufacturing community as key contributors to the social, technical and educational progress of manufacturing. This honor can only be earned through 20 or more years of dedication and service to manufacturing.

The 2013 Class of SME Fellows

M. Helmi Attia, PhD, FSME

Manager of Advanced Material Removal Processes, Aerospace Manufacturing

National Research Council Canada

Montreal, Quebec, Canada

M. Helmi Attia is a professional engineer of Ontario, Canada, and an adjunct professor of Mechanical Engineering at McGill University. Before joining the NRC in 2002, Attia was principal research engineer, Ontario Hydro Technologies, and manager of fabrication technology, Spar Aerospace Technology Ltd. He received numerous recognitions from ASME and ASTM for being the principal organizer and editor of symposia related to manufacturing and tribology. Attia has authored/coauthored some 180 papers in archival journals and refereed conference proceedings, and more than 100 technical research reports (more).

Doug Genord, FSME

Technical Fellow

The Boeing Co.

Federal Way, Wash.

Doug Genord has more than 30 years' experience developing manufacturing and quality systems for fabrication and assembly operations. Genord supports the development and implementation of Boeing's advanced manufacturing strategy. He is currently chair of SME's Product & Process Design and Management Community and was a member of the SME Board of Directors in 2005 and 2006. Genord served on and chaired several SME steering, advisory and organizing committees, including the the Diversity in Manufacturing Action Council and WESTEC (more).

John W. Gillespie Jr., PhD, FSME


University of Delaware Center for Composite Materials

Newark, Del.

John W. Gillespie Jr. has served the University of Delaware Center for Composite Materials in several roles since 1981. He has authored/coauthored more than 650 publications in composites science and technology including 13 book/book chapters, 15 patents, and more than 250 refereed journal papers and 400 proceeding papers. Gillespie is a fellow of the American Society for Composites, recipient of the 2013 American Society for Civil Engineers Charles Pankow Award for Innovation and the first academic recipient of SME's J.H. "Jud" Hall Composites Manufacturing Award (more).

Vincent W. Howell Sr., FSME, CMfgE

Manager, Information Security and Policy

Corning Inc.

Corning, N.Y.

Since earning a bachelor's degree in industrial technology (manufacturing) in 1975 from the North Carolina A&T State University, where he was first introduced to SME, Vincent W. Howell Sr. has been a member for 31 years. During this time, he has served as a chair and officer for Elmira Chapter 24 and Lexington Chapter 154, on the Member Council (chair, Leadership Development Task Group) and on various committees, including the Member Enhancement Committee. Howell has 36 years of international engineering management, project management and engineering experience in the active matrix liquid crystal display (LCD) glass and electronics manufacturing industries (more).

Yeau-Ren Jeng, PhD, FSME

Endowed Chair Professor and Executive Vice President

National Chung Cheng University


Yeau-Ren Jeng is currently an endowed chair professor and executive vice president of National Chung Cheng University, founding director of the Advanced Institute for Manufacturing with High-Tech Innovations and a professor of the Department of Mechanical Engineering. Jeng's research has provided significant benefits to multiple industries, including the automotive, electronic, manufacturing and nano-related industries. He is the owner of more than 20 patents and is the recipient of numerous awards. Jeng is the associate editor of several international journals including the ASME Journal of Tribology and STLE Tribology Transactions (more).

Prof. Dr. Ir. Bert Lauwers, FSME


KU Leuven

Leuven, Belgium

Bert Lauwers has conducted research in KU Leuven's production engineering, machine design and automation division on manufacturing processes (multiaxis milling, high-speed machining, electrical discharge machining, hybrid processes, machining of advanced materials) and computer support in manufacturing such as CAD/CAM, NC programming, NC simulation and NC post-processing. He was and is active in several national and international (European-level) research projects. On October 1, 2013, Lauwers holds the chair of Science and Technology at KU Leuven, Thomas More. He has been an SME member for more than 10 years (more).

2014 Fellows Nominations Deadline:

SME members worldwide are encouraged to nominate members who have made a notable impact in the field of manufacturing. The deadline for 2013 Fellow nominations is December 1, 2013. Selection criteria include leadership in industry, education, research and development, inventions publications and/or service to the profession. Visit to download a nomination form.

About SME

SME connects all those who are passionate about making things that improve our world. As a nonprofit organization, SME has served practitioners, companies, educators, government and communities across the manufacturing spectrum for more than 80 years. Through its strategic areas of events, media, membership, training and development, and the SME Education Foundation, SME shares knowledge to advance manufacturing. At SME, we are making the future.

Media Contact

Lori Ann Dick, APR




All Topics