SME Presents 2019 International Honor Awards to Five Manufacturing Professionals

Press Release Summary:

The SME announces the winners of its 2019 International Honor Awards to five manufacturing professionals from academia and industry. The awardees are Robert X. Gao (Eli Whitney Productivity Award), Dean L. Bartles (Donald C. Burnham Manufacturing Management Award), Tony L. Schmitz (SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal), John S. Agapiou (SME Albert M. Sargent Progress Award) and Steven R. Schmid (SME Gold Medal). These awards are given to individuals for accomplishments in machining dynamics; metal cutting, machine tools and development in manufacturing processes and assembly.

Original Press Release:

SME Recognizes Five Prominent Manufacturing Professionals with International Honor Awards

SOUTHFIELD, Mich., April 16, 2019 /PRNewswire/ -- SME today announced that five manufacturing professionals from industry and academia are being recognized with its 2019 International Honor Awards. These highly accomplished individuals are being honored for their significant accomplishments and contributions in manufacturing process monitoring and quality control; machining dynamics; metal cutting, machine tools, development in manufacturing processes and assembly; and leadership and service to manufacturing. All five will receive their awards during SME's May 19 International Awards Gala in Detroit.

"Our 2019 award winners are individuals who think outside the box; they continually push the boundaries in science and manufacturing," said Mark L. Michalski, 2019 SME president. "Through their groundbreaking research, process innovations, leadership and prolific publishing efforts, the industry is both strengthened and enlightened."

2019 International Honor Award winners:

  • Eli Whitney Productivity Award — Robert X. Gao, PhD, FSME, Cady Staley professor and department chair, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland
  • Donald C. Burnham Manufacturing Management Award — Dean L. Bartles, PhD, FSME, president, National Tooling and Machining Association, Cleveland
  • SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal — Tony L. Schmitz,PhD, FSME, professor and assistant director, Energy Production and Infrastructure Center, University of North Carolina at Charlotte, Charlotte, North Carolina
  • SME Albert M. Sargent Progress Award — John S. Agapiou,PhD, FSME, technical fellow, Manufacturing Systems Lab, R&D Center, General Motors, Warren, Michigan
  • SME Gold Medal — Steven R. Schmid, PhD, FSME, PE, professor, Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, Indiana; program director, Advanced Manufacturing, National Science Foundation, Alexandria, Virginia

Nominations for the 2020 SME International Honor Awards are currently being sought. Submissions are due Aug. 1 and can be submitted at

About SME

SME connects manufacturing professionals, academia and communities, sharing knowledge and resources to build inspired, educated and prosperous manufacturers and enterprises. With more than 85 years of experience and expertise in events, media, membership, training and development, and also through the SME Education Foundation, SME is committed to promoting manufacturing technology, developing a skilled workforce and attracting future generations to advance manufacturing. Learn more at, follow @SME_MFG on Twitter or

CONTACT: Rick Crooks, SME Public Relations,, 313.425.3186

Web Site:

More from Electrical Equipment & Systems

All Topics