SME Members elect international directors, Member Council Reps.

Press Release Summary:

SME elected 6 international directors to serve as its governing body. Beginning their terms in January 2016, SME International Directors will be Sandra Bouckley, Mark Michalski, Robert Nesbitt, Ralph Resnick, Jim Schlusemann, and Susan Smyth. SME members also elected 4 Member Council representatives: Maite Mauri, Dean Phillips, Brock Strunk, and David Wells. SME leadership, members, and staff will install new president and board of directors in November.

Original Press Release:

SME Members Elect 2016 International Directors; Member Council Representatives

Professional accomplishment, academic achievement are attributes of those slated to serve

(DEARBORN, Mich.) — SME, a professional organization serving the manufacturing industry by promoting advanced manufacturing technology and preparing and developing the manufacturing workforce, has elected six international directors to serve as the governing body of the organization. The directors will begin their terms in January 2016.

“Their diverse manufacturing and engineering backgrounds, as well as their long-time membership in this organization, meld to provide rare talent, experience and ability,” said Wayne Frost, 2015 SME president. “They’re committed to SME being the leader in support of our industry and its workforce through education, engagement and advocacy.”

2016 SME International Directors:

· Sandra Bouckley, GKN Driveline Americas

· Mark Michalski, MKS Instruments

· Robert Nesbitt, AbbVie

· Ralph Resnick, National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining; America Makes

· Jim Schlusemann, Prosperia International

· Susan Smyth, General Motors

SME members have also elected four new Member Council representatives. The council works to recognize and meet the needs of members and counsel SME leadership on effective membership recruitment, retention and engagement.

“Our Member Council is dedicated to service — both to the SME organization and to its members — to strengthen that relationship,” said Thomas Bridge, 2015 SME Member Council chair. “We want to bring engagement and experience to our members, and we need their energy and expertise to do so. We welcome our new representatives.”

2016 SME Member Council representatives:

· Maite Mauri, SME Seattle Chair

· Dean Phillips, LINK Systems

· Brock Strunk, Epic Aircraft LLC

· David Wells, North Dakota State University

SME leadership, members and staff will install a new president and board of directors in November.

About SME

SME connects all those who are passionate about making things that improve our world. As a nonprofit organization, SME has served practitioners, companies, educators, government and communities across the manufacturing spectrum for more than 80 years. Through its strategic areas of events, media, membership, training and development, and the SME Education Foundation, SME is uniquely dedicated to the advancement of manufacturing by addressing both knowledge and skills needed for the industry. Learn more at, follow @SME_MFG on Twitter or


All Topics