SME Honors Johnson with Teem Award

DEARBORN, Mich., March 19: The Society of Manufacturing Engineers
(SME) and its Electronics Manufacturing Tech Group recently honored Professor R. Wayne Johnson with its prestigious 2007 Total Excellence in Electronics Manufacturing (TEEM) Award.

The award is given annually to an individual in recognition of extraordinary dedication and innovation in setting new or higher levels of achievement in electronics manufacturing.

SME's Electronics Manufacturing Tech Group, originally established in 1985 as the Association for Electronics Manufacturing, comprises a membership of industry practitioners, vendors and academics providing educational leadership and promoting the exchange of information in electronics manufacturing.

"Professor Johnson is a leader in the area of electronics and advanced packaging, and manufacturing," says Dr. Alok Sharan of Hewlett-Packard,
2007 TEEM Selection Committee Chairman. "Professor Johnson has made wide ranging contributions to the field of Electronics Manufacturing, specifically in areas such as lead free solder, flip chip assemblies, hybrid microelectronics, Multichip Modules, and extreme environment electronics. His many years of contributions and leadership in these key areas made him an excellent choice for the 2007 TEEM award".
Johnson is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at Auburn University and Director of the Laboratory for Electronics Assembly and Packaging (LEAP). At Auburn, he has established teaching and research laboratories for advanced packaging and electronics manufacturing. His research efforts are focused on the materials, processing, and reliability aspects of electronics manufacturing. Current projects include lead free electronics assembly, mixed lead free and Sn/Pb electronics assembly, wafer level packaging, flip chip assembly, assembly of ultra thin Si die, and electronics packaging for extreme environments.

Johnson was the 1991 President of the International Society for Hybrid Microelectronics (ISHM). He received the 1993 John A. Wagnon, Jr. Technical Achievement Award from ISHM, was named a Fellow of the Society in 1994 and received the Daniel C. Hughes Memorial Award in 1997. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), and a member of the Surface Mount Technology Association (SMTA), and IPC (Association Connecting Electronics Industries). He is currently a member of the IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology (CPMT) Society Board of Governors. He is also Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Electronics Packaging Manufacturing.

He has published 52 journal papers, 135 conference papers, 6 book chapters and co-edited one book on electronics packaging and electronics manufacturing. He has also presented a number of invited talks. Wayne holds one U.S. patent.

About SME:
The Society of Manufacturing Engineers is the world's leading professional society supporting manufacturing education. Through its member programs, publications, expositions and professional development resources, SME promotes an increased awareness of manufacturing engineering and helps keep manufacturing professionals up to date on leading trends and technologies. Headquartered in Dearborn, Michigan, SME influences more than half a million manufacturing practitioners and executives annually. The Society, which celebrates its 75th anniversary in 2007, has members in more than 70 countries and is supported by a network of hundreds of technical
communities and chapters worldwide, including nine chapters in Canada.

To learn more about SME, please visit our web site at


All Topics