SME Honors Industry Leaders with 2013 International Honor Awards.

Press Release Summary:

International Honor Awards recognize those who have made significant contributions to such areas as manufacturing technologies, technical writing, education, research, management, and service to SME. Recipients for 2013 are Paul K. Oldroyd, with Donald C. Burnham Manufacturing Management Award; Kanji Ueda, with SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal; Moshe Shpitalni, with SME Albert M. Sargent Progress Award; Mark J. Stratton, with SME Education Award; and Jun Ni, with SME Gold Medal.

Original Press Release:

SME to Honor Industry Leaders with 2013 International Honor Awards

Five individuals to be recognized for exemplary contributions to manufacturing

DEARBORN, Mich. — For more than 50 years, the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) has paid tribute to manufacturing professionals who have made significant contributions to the field of manufacturing engineering.

In particular, the International Honor Awards recognize those who have made significant contributions to areas such as manufacturing technologies, technical writing, education, research, management and service to the Society. Recipients are chosen from a highly selective process and are honored each year at the SME International Awards Gala, which is held in conjunction with the Society’s Annual Conference, June 2-4, 2013, at the Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel in Baltimore.

The 2013 recipients are:

Paul K. Oldroyd

Technical Fellow, Engineering and Manufacturing Process Development

Bell Helicopter / Textron Inc.

Fort Worth, Texas

Paul Oldroyd is recognized with the Donald C. Burnham Manufacturing Management Award for his development of manufacturing tooling and processes to achieve “industry firsts” in thick-carbon rotor and airframe components. He is also honored for his achievement in the automation of composites wing and rotor fabrication, which contributed to the successful production of the V22 tilt rotor aircraft. During Oldroyd 28-year career at Bell, he has distinguished himself as an expert in technology development and maturation, production strategy and manufacturing management.

Kanji Ueda, PhD

Emeritus Professor

University of Tokyo


Kanji Ueda, PhD, is recognized with the SME Frederick W. Taylor Research Medal for his innovative contributions on improving both on-the-process level (chip formation mechanisms) and system-level (modeling and control of manufacturing systems), and his unique focus on the interactions of manufacturing, economy and society. Since 1972, Ueda has engaged in research and teaching in several universities in the fields of metal-cutting theory, manufacturing systems, emergent synthesis and co-creative decision making.

Moshe Shpitalni, DSc, FSME

Georg Schlesinger Professor in Manufacturing Systems

Head, Laboratory for CAD & Lifecycle Engineering

Department Mechanical Engineering

Technion-Israel Institute of Technology

Technion, Haifa, Israel

Moshe Shpitalni, DSc, is recognized with the SME Albert M. Sargent Progress Award for his outstanding accomplishments in manufacturing science and technologies, and for his breakthrough developments that have improved manufacturing methods and manufacturing systems. He has published more than 120 papers and supervised more than 30 PhD and master's students in the field of computer-aided design and manufacturing. Shpitalni is a fellow of SME and currently serves as deputy vice president for academic affairs at the Technion.

Mark J. Stratton

Education Relations Manager

Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME)

Dearborn, Mich.

Mark Stratton is recognized with the SME Education Award for a career filled with pioneering and significant accomplishments that furthered the professionalism of manufacturing engineering through visionary leadership in the manufacturing education community. Stratton is an education relations manager with SME and plays a key role advancing the Society’s agenda in higher education through the SME Center for Education, the Manufacturing Education & Research Community, the Accreditation Committee and the North American Manufacturing Research Institution of SME (NAMRI/SME).

Jun Ni, PhD, FSME

Shien-Ming “Sam” Wu Collegiate Professor of Manufacturing Science

Professor of Mechanical Engineering

University of Michigan

Ann Arbor, Mich.

Jun Ni is recognized with the SME Gold Medal for seminal contributions to the science of integrating innovative modeling and control of machining processes. He is also honored for doubling productivity improvement in many industrial plants. Ni is the Shien-Ming “Sam” Wu collegiate professor of manufacturing science and a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Michigan. He serves as the founding dean of the University of Michigan – Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute located in Shanghai, China. Ni is a fellow of SME and has received an SME Outstanding Manufacturing Engineers Award in 1991.

For more information about the SME International Honor Awards, visit Nominations for the 2014 SME International Honor Awards are due August 1, 2013.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Visit the SME Media Center for the latest Society news, one-stop access to SME Events, Manufacturing Quicklinks, SME social media sites, RSS feed and more.

About SME

The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) is the premier source for manufacturing knowledge, education and networking. Through its many programs, events, activities and online training division, Tooling U, SME connects manufacturing practitioners to each other, to the latest technologies and to the most up-to-date manufacturing processes. SME has members around the world and is supported by a network of chapters and technical communities. A 501(c)3 organization, SME is a leader in manufacturing workforce development issues, working with industry, academic and government partners to support the current and future skilled workforce.


Lori Ann Dick, APR

Senior PR Representative

Tel 313.425.3187

Contact This Company

More from Materials

All Topics