SME elects 2009 Executive Committee and Board of Directors.

Press Release Summary:

The SME announces election of Richard W. Shoemaker as President of the Executive Committee, Barbara M. Fossum as President-elect, Paul D. Bradley as VP, LaRoux K. Gillespie as Secretary/Treasurer, and Dennis S. Bray as at-large member. Michael C. Burstein, Wayne F. Frost, and Michael R. Watson were elected to the Board of Directors. Installed on October 26, 2008 at the SME Fall Board of Directors Meeting, their terms all officially began on January 1, 2009.

Original Press Release:

Society of Manufacturing Engineers Elects 2009 Executive Committee and Board of Directors

DEARBORN, Mich., January 12, 2009 - The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) announces the election of three new members to its Board of Directors, and the election of the five members to its Executive Committee for 2009. All were installed October 26, 2008 at the SME Fall Board of Directors Meeting in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Their terms officially began on January 1, 2009.

President: Richard W. Shoemaker, FSME

Shoemaker is currently president and CEO of Hawkeye-Pipe, and is retired from the Kohler Company. He began his career in the machine tool industry with Sundstrand Corporation, managing the first direct numerical control machining systems (Omnicontrol). An SME member since 1976, he is a founding member of SME's Manufacturing Enterprise Council (MEC), and is a past chair of the MEC Technology Watch Subcommittee. He was elected an SME Fellow in 2004. Shoemaker received his bachelor's degree in industrial engineering from Purdue University and a master's degree in business administration from Houston Baptist University.

President-elect: Barbara M. Fossum, PhD, FSME

Fossum is president of the Gordon Group, a Chicago-based leadership development and change management company. Joining SME in 1989, she is a member of SME Florida Suncoast Chapter 159, and was elected to the SME College of Fellows in 1996. Fossum was educated at the University of Texas at Austin, Stevens Institute of Technology and St. Mary-of-the-Woods College. She holds a PhD in Operations Management, and an MBA and MS in Mathematics/Computer Science.

Vice President: Paul D. Bradley, PE

Bradley is managing director for Peterson Industries where he has served in various roles since joining the company in 1980. He has been a member of SME since 1989 and has served in various elected positions, including chair of SME Adelaide Chapter 169 twice. Bradley is a recipient of the SME Ralph E. Cross Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award and in 2001 received the Governor's Leadership Foundation Fellowship Award. He completed a four-year apprenticeship as a fitter and turner, and earned a diploma of management from O'Halloran Hill College.

Secretary/Treasurer: LaRoux K. Gillespie, Dr Eng, FSME, CMfgE, PE

Gillespie retired as quality assurance manager of Honeywell's Federal Manufacturing & Technologies division (Kansas City, MO) where he led a 200-employee group responsible for product and operating quality for the 2800-employee plant. He has been extremely active in SME since becoming a student member in 1962. An SME Fellow, Gillespie has served on numerous SME committees over the years and has led numerous SME technical conferences. He has degrees in both manufacturing engineering and mechanical engineering.

Also elected to the 2009 Executive Committee was the following at-large member:

Dennis S. Bray, PhD, FSME

Bray is the former president and CEO of Cincinnati Incorporated, an advanced manufacturer of metalworking machinery with some 500 employees. His entire career has been devoted to broadening the knowledge base of manufacturing. A member of the Society since 2002, Bray was elected to the SME College of Fellows in 2003. Additional honors include the SME Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award and the Ford Foundation Fellowship-University of Wisconsin. He holds a bachelors degree in engineering, and a doctorate from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

The three directors newly elected to serve two-year terms on the Board of Directors, beginning January 1, 2009 are:

Michael C. Burstein, PhD, CEI, EMCP

Burstein is president of TIPE, Inc. in Amherst, Mass. and has served the Society in many capacities, including participation in the SME Certification Oversight and Appeals Committee and the Leadership/Boot Camp Series Committee. He was a member of the SME Product and Process Design and Management Community steering committee and chaired the Computer and Automated Systems Technical Group. In 2006, Burstein received recognition as an outstanding contributor to the development of SME's Lean Certification program. He holds a bachelors degree in mathematics from Johns Hopkins University, a masters degree in engineering from George Washington University, and a doctorate degree in controls engineering and economics from Northwestern University.

Wayne F. Frost, CMfgE

Frost, a production system project manager at John Deere Waterloo Works, manages Deere's lean manufacturing program. He also serves other John Deere Units as a Deere product quality system auditor. An active SME member since 1983, he has served the Society at all levels. Frost has received many honors such as the SME Award of Merit, SME President's Award and the John Deere General Manager's Award. He earned a BS and MS from the University of Northern Iowa.

Michael R. Watson, CMfgE

Watson is a manufacturing engineer with NACCO Materials Handling Group and is currently assigned to the team responsible for the product development of updating their Class I lift trucks. An SME member since 1979, he was mid-Atlantic Region 2 chair in 1996 and was one of the first elected members to the SME Member Council. He has received many honors from the Society including three President's Awards and the 2000 SME Award of Merit. He earned a BS degree in Industrial Technology at East Carolina University (Greenville) and has taught engineering courses at two local community colleges.

The full roster for the 2009 SME Executive Committee and Board of Directors is below:



Richard W. Shoemaker, FSME, The Hawkeye Group


Barbara M. Fossum, PhD, FSME, The Gordon Group

Vice President

Paul D. Bradley, PE, Peterson Industries Pty. Ltd.


LaRoux K. Gillespie, Dr Eng., FSME, CMfgE, PE, Honeywell (Retired)


Dennis S. Bray, FSME

Michael C. Burstein, PhD, CEI, TIPE Inc.

Charles D. Cox, FSME, CMfgE, PE, Southern Manufacturing Consultants

Neil A. Duffie, PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Hoda A. ElMaraghy, PhD, FSME, PE, University of Windsor

Wayne F. Frost, CMfgE, John Deere Waterloo Works

Richard L. Kegg, PhD, FSME, CMfgE, PE, Milacron Inc. (Retired)

Richard C. Peters, LSME, CMfgE, PE, Timken Aerospace Aftermarket Solutions

Jack H. Schron Jr., Jergens Inc.

Michael R. Watson, CMfgE, NACCO Materials Handling Group

George E. West Jr., PACCAR Inc.

Executive Director & General Manager

Mark C. Tomlinson, CMfgE, EMCP

SME News Feed:

To receive the latest up-to-the-minute SME news, subscribe to RSS.

About SME:

The Society of Manufacturing Engineers is the world's leading professional society supporting manufacturing education. Through its member programs, publications, expositions and professional development resources, SME promotes an increased awareness of manufacturing engineering and helps keep manufacturing professionals up to date on leading trends and technologies. Headquartered in Michigan, SME influences more than half a million manufacturing practitioners and executives annually. The Society has members in more than 70 countries and is supported by a network of hundreds of technical communities and chapters worldwide.


All Topics