Estey To Lead NEMA

ROSSLYN, VA, November 30, 2006-The National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) has elected S&C Electric President and CEO John Estey as chairman of the NEMA Board of Governors, a body that includes the executives of the world's largest electrical manufacturers.

After taking office, Estey emphasized the importance of NEMA's efforts to take the lead on environmentally sound manufacturing. The association recently adopted a call to action that will push NEMA and its member companies to the forefront of the movement to control hazardous materials in products and to design products in a manner that will have a beneficial effect on the environment. NEMA's call to action will establish worldwide hazardous substance restrictions for virtually all relevant NEMA products, within the limits of technical achievability, and observing the need to ensure safety and performance, by July 1, 2014. By 2010, NEMA manufacturers will have met standards set forth for certain products by the European Union Directive on the Restriction of the Use of Certain Hazardous Substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment (RoHS). The call to action is one of NEMA's most ambitious policy undertakings in recent years, in addition to its promotion of energy efficiency and an upgrade of the nation's electrical infrastructure.

"NEMA has long recognized the need for sound energy and environmental policies," said Estey. "What we are attempting to do is get ahead of those who would institute well intentioned, but ill-advised, scientifically unsound, and anti-competitive policies and practices."

Estey's election as chairman through 2007 accompanied the election of other industry leaders to three-year terms on the NEMA board, including William Boehm, chief executive officer and chairman of the board of Connector Manufacturing Co.; James Campbell, president and chief executive officer of GE Consumer & Industrial; Randy Carson, group president of Eaton Corporation; Richard Couch, chief executive officer of Hypertherm Incorporated; Gregory Kenny, president and chief executive officer of General Cable; John Longenderfer, president and chief executive officer of Lutron Electronics Company, Inc.; Joseph W. McClanathan, president and chief executive officer of Energizer Battery; John Morgan, president and chief executive officer of Acuity Lighting Group; John Selldorf, president and chief executive officer of Legrand North America; and Gordon Thursfield, president of Nexans Canada Inc.

James Davis, vice president of U.S. Diagnostic Imaging Sales and Marketing, GE Healthcare and Theodore Crandall, senior vice president of Components & Packaged Applications Group, Rockwell Automation, were elected for one-year terms to fill vacancies on the board; Donald Hendler, president of Leviton Manufacturing, was elected for a two-year term to fill another vacancy.

NEMA is the trade association of choice for the electrical manufacturing industry. Founded in 1926 and headquartered near Washington, D.C., its 430 member companies manufacture products used in the generation, transmission and distribution, control, and end-use of electricity. These products are used in utility, medical imaging, industrial, commercial, institutional, and residential applications. Domestic production of electrical products sold worldwide exceeds $120 billion. In addition to its headquarters in Rosslyn, Virginia, NEMA also has offices in Beijing, São Paulo, and Mexico City.

NEMA. Setting Standards for Excellence
Visit our website at


All Topics