Dale Wahlquist is New Chairman of ASTM International Committee on Nuclear Fuel Cycle

W. CONSHOHOCKEN, Pa., January 29, 2010-Dale Wahlquist, department manager, applied engineering design and drafting at Idaho National Laboratory in Idaho Falls, Idaho, has been named chairman of ASTM International Committee C26 on Nuclear Fuel Cycle for a two-year term.

Committee C26 consists of approximately 200 members who oversee more than 160 standards covering the nuclear fuel cycle, including spent nuclear fuel, waste materials and repository waste packaging and storage.

A member of ASTM International since 1999, Wahlquist also chairs Subcommittee C26.14 on Remote Systems, and works on the joint group with Committee E10 on Nuclear Technology and Applications. Committee C26 has honored him with an Award of Achievement and the Harlan J. Anderson Award for his outstanding contributions.

Prior to joining the staff at Idaho National Laboratory in 2005, Wahlquist was an engineer at Westinghouse Electric Supply Co. and Argonne National Laboratory, both in Idaho Falls, Idaho. In his current role, which he assumed in 2008, he manages engineering and drafting resources for the Idaho National Laboratory.

Outside ASTM International, Wahlquist is a former member of the American Glovebox Society's Standards Development Committee. He holds a B.S. in mechanical engineering from Brigham Young University, Provo, Utah, and an M.E. in mechanical engineering from the University of Idaho, Moscow, Idaho.

ASTM International is one of the largest international standards development and delivery systems in the world. ASTM International meets the World Trade Organization (WTO) principles for the development of international standards: coherence, consensus, development dimension, effectiveness, impartiality, openness, relevance and transparency. ASTM standards are accepted and used in research and development, product testing, quality systems and commercial transactions.


All Topics