Association News

BIO elects new board members and officers.

Press Release Summary:

Jul 02, 2014 - BIO has announced re-election of Rachel King, President and CEO, GlycoMimetics, Inc., as Chair of its Board of Directors for the 2014-2015 term. BIO also elected Dan Junius, President and CEO, ImmunoGen, as its new Board Treasurer, and re-elected David Pyott, Chairman, President and CEO, Allergan, Inc., as Board Secretary. In addition, BIO elected 10 new members to its Board of Directors, and the Board elected 19 of its Directors to serve on BIO's Board Executive Committee for new term.

Biotechnology Industry Organization - Washington, DC

Original Press Release

BIO Elects New Board Members and Officers for the 2014-2015 Term

Press release date: Jun 23, 2014

SAN DIEGO--The Biotechnology Industry Organization (BIO) is pleased to announce the re-election of Rachel King, President & CEO, GlycoMimetics, Inc., as the Chair of its Board of Directors for the 2014-2015 term, the election of Dan Junius, President & CEO, ImmunoGen, as its new Board Treasurer, and the re-election of David Pyott, Chairman, President & CEO, Allergan, Inc., as Board Secretary. The Board also elected 19 of its Directors to serve on BIO’s Board Executive Committee for the new term. In addition, BIO welcomes the election of 10 new members to its Board of Directors, voted upon at this year’s 2014 BIO International Convention.

“BIO is deeply appreciative to departing Board members for their dedication and commitment over the years.”

“We welcome our new officers and Board members, and are looking forward to working with them to create a more favorable policy, legislative and business development environment for the global biotech industry,” said Jim Greenwood, BIO President & CEO. “This newly-constituted Board of Directors brings significant industry experience and passion that will serve BIO and its members well.”

Greenwood also thanked BIO’s departing Board members, saying, “BIO is deeply appreciative to departing Board members for their dedication and commitment over the years.”

Members of the Executive Committee of BIO’s Board of Directors for the 2014-2015 term are:

Rachel King, President & CEO, GlycoMimetics – Board and Executive Committee Chair
Dan Junius, President & CEO, ImmunoGen – Board Treasurer
David Pyott, Chairman, President & CEO, Allergan – Board Secretary
Ron Cohen, President & CEO, Acorda Therapeutics – Health Section Governing Board Vice Chair
John Maraganore, Chief Executive Officer, Emerging Companies Section (ECS) Governing Board Chair
Michael Narachi, President & CEO, Orexigen Therapeutics – ECS Governing Board Vice Chair
Jerry Flint, Vice President, Biotech Affairs and Regulatory, DuPont – Food & Agriculture Section (FAS) Governing Board Chair
Eddie Sullivan, President & CEO, SAB Biotherapeutics – FAS Governing Board Vice Chair
Adam Monroe, President, Novozymes North America– Industrial & Environmental Section (IES) Governing Board Chair
Christopher Standlee, Executive Vice Present, Institutional Relationships & Government Affairs, Abengoa Bioenergy – IES Governing Board Vice Chair
Ian Clark, CEO & Head of North American Commercial Operations, Genentech/Roche - At-Large
Doug Doerfler, President & CEO, MaxCyte – At-Large
Julie Gerberding, President, Merck Vaccines – At-Large
Geno Germano, President and General Manager of Specialty Care and Oncology, Pfizer – At-Large
Paul Hastings, President & CEO, OncoMed Pharmaceuticals – At-Large
Perry Karsen, Chief Operations Officer, Celgene – At-Large
Richard Pops, Chairman & CEO, Alkermes – At-Large
Jay Siegel, Chief Biotechnology Officer & Head Scientific Strategy & Policy, Johnson & Johnson – At-Large
H. Thomas Watkins – Immediate Past Chair/Chair Emeritus
The full BIO Board of Directors is comprised of the elected Directors serving on each of BIO’s Section Governing Boards. The newly-elected Board Members from these Sections are:

Health Section Governing Board

John Glasspool, Vice President, Emerging Therapies and Market Development, Baxter Bioscience
Flemming Ornskov, Chief Executive Officer, Shire, plc
Paris Panayiotopoulos, President & Managing Director, EMD Serono, Inc.
Michael Severino, Executive Vice President and R&D Chief Scientific Officer, AbbVie
Mark Timney, President & CEO, Purdue Pharma
Emerging Companies Section Governing Board

Deborah Dunsire, President & CEO, FORUM Pharmaceuticals
Jean-Francois Formela, Partner, Atlas Venture
Hans Schikan, Chief Executive Officer, Prosensa
James Healy, General Partner, Sofinnova Ventures
Neil Warma, President & CEO, Opexa Therapeutics, Inc.

About BIO
BIO is the world's largest trade association representing biotechnology companies, academic institutions, state biotechnology centers and related organizations across the United States and in more than 30 other nations. BIO members are involved in the research and development of innovative healthcare, agricultural, industrial and environmental biotechnology products. BIO also produces the BIO International Convention, the world’s largest gathering of the biotechnology industry, along with industry-leading investor and partnering meetings held around the world. BIOtechNOW is BIO's blog chronicling “innovations transforming our world” and the BIO Newsletter is the organization’s bi-weekly email newsletter. Subscribe to the BIO Newsletter.

Upcoming BIO Events

BIO International Convention
June 23-26, 2014
San Diego, CA

BIO Latin America Conference
September 9-11, 2014
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Livestock Biotech Summit
September 16-18, 2014
Sioux Falls, SD

BIO Investor Forum
October 7-8, 2014
San Francisco, CA

Pacific Rim Summit on Industrial Biotechnology & Bioenergy
December 7-9, 2014
San Diego, CA

Biotechnology Industry Organization
Tracy Cooley, APR, 202-312-9274
Twitter: @IAmBiotech