Association News

ANSI Board names volunteer leaders for 2010 terms.

Press Release Summary:

December 9, 2009 - ANSI Board of Directors announced its members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2010. This includes Arthur E. Cote, who was re-appointed for a second one-year term as ANSI's chairman of the Board, and 4 vice-chairmen. Newly and re-elected Directors-at-Large were also named for terms beginning January 1, 2010 and ending December 31, 2012. Retiring members were also recognized for their service to the institute.

American National Standards Institute - New York, NY

Original Press Release

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2010

Press release date: December 7, 2009

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors announced today its new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2010. Arthur E. Cote, P.E., supported by the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), was re-appointed for a second one-year term as ANSI's chairman of the Board. Supporting the chairman will be four vice-chairmen: Belinda Collins, Ph.D., director, technology services for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST); Laura E. Hitchcock, corporate project manager, external standards for the Boeing Company; James T. Pauley, vice president of industry and government relations at Schneider Electric/Square D Company; and James A. Thomas, president of ASTM International. All four are continuing in their respective positions as vice-chairmen of the Institute. Robert W. Noth continues to serve as immediate past chairman. The following individuals have been newly elected as "Directors-at-Large" for terms beginning January 1, 2010, and ending December 31, 2012: Alvin B. Scolnik, Vice President, Technical Services Department, National Electrical Manufacturers Association W. Martin Strauss, Vice President of Food Policy, Monsanto Company Cynthia D. Woodley, Ed.D., Vice President and Lead Psychometrician, Professional Testing, Inc. The following individuals have been re-elected to the Board and will continue to serve as "Directors-at-Large" for terms beginning January 1, 2010, and ending December 31, 2012: Daryl R. Hunt, Director of Standards Strategy, Eastman Kodak Company Scott R. Klavon, Director, SAE International, Managing Director, SAE Institute William F. Koch, Ph.D., FACB, Chief Metrology Officer, U.S. Pharmacopeia Amy A. Marasco, General Manager of Standards Strategy, Microsoft Corporation Donald L. Mays, Senior Director of Product Safety and Technical Policy, Consumers Union Mary H. Saunders, Acting Assistant Secretary for Manufacturing and Services, U.S. Department of Commerce, International Trade Administration August W. Schaefer, Senior Vice President and Public Safety Officer, Underwriters Laboratories, Inc. Sharon K. Stanford, Director, Department of Standards Administration, American Dental Association Each new member was nominated by the ANSI membership in accordance with the Institute's Bylaws. The terms of Directors-at-Large are staggered so that approximately one-third expire at the end of any given calendar year. Individuals retiring from the Board at the end of 2009 include: Lester F. Eastwood, Jr., Ph.D., Senior Director of Architecture and Standards Strategy, Motorola David Foster, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, Kryterion, Inc. Alexander McMillan, Director for Global Standards and Trade at Rockwell Automation Edward F. Mikoski, Jr., Vice President for EIA Standards and Technology, Electronic Components Association Each of the retiring members was recognized for his past service to the Institute. The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to these individuals for their many contributions and efforts in support of the Institute and the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community. In addition, the following board members serve as the Member Forum chairs: Roberta Nelson Shea (Company Member), Kathleen A. Thuner (Consumer Interest), Gregory E. Saunders (Government Member), and Fred Hayes (Organizational Member). About ANSI The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide. The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).


comments powered by Disqus