ThomasNet News Logo
Sign Up | Log In | ThomasNet Home | Promote Your Business

SAE awards researchers for automotive aerodynamics paper.

Print | 
Email |  Comment   Share  
March 20, 2008 - SAE has awarded Kevin Cooper, President of CooperAero, Ltd., and Edzard Mercker, Managing Director of the Aerodynamics Division of aem-GmbH, with the Colwell Merit Award. They are being recognized for co-authoring the paper, A Two-Measurement Correction for the Effects of a Pressure Gradient on Automotive, Open-Jet, and Wind Tunnel Measurements. On April 15, 5-7:30 pm, they will be honored during the SAE 2008 World Congress Award Ceremony in Detroit.

Researchers to Receive SAE Award for Automotive Aerodynamics Paper

(Archive News Story - Products mentioned in this Archive News Story may or may not be available from the manufacturer.)

Society Of Automotive Engineers, Inc. (SAE)
400-T Commonwealth Dr.
Warrendale, PA, 15096

Press release date: March 4, 2008

WARRENDALE, Pa., March 4, 2008 - Kevin Cooper and Edzard Mercker are recipients of SAE International's Colwell Merit Award. They will be honored during the SAE 2008 World Congress Award Ceremony held April 15, 5-7:30 p.m., at Cobo Center in Detroit.

The Colwell Merit Award, established in 1965, annually recognizes the authors of outstanding papers presented at an SAE conference or SAE section meeting. The late Arch T. Colwell, who first funded this award, served SAE International in many capacities for nearly 50 years, including a term as President in 1941.

This award is funded through the SAE Foundation. In addition to supporting the awards, recognition and scholarship programs of SAE International, the SAE Foundation develops and funds programs and incentives that foster student interest in engineering, scientific and technical education.

Cooper and Mercker are being recognized for co-authoring the paper, "A Two-Measurement Correction for the Effects of a Pressure Gradient on Automotive, Open-Jet and Wind Tunnel Measurements" (SAE paper #2006-01-0568). The paper provides a method that corrects errors induced by empty-tunnel pressure distribution in the aerodynamic forces and moments measured on an automobile in a wind tunnel.

Kevin Cooper Cooper is President of CooperAero, Ltd., in Ottawa, Ontario. He retired from the National Research Council (NRC) of Canada, where he was involved with aerodynamics research for both aerospace and automotive applications.

Cooper has published 94 refereed papers, 23 of which were SAE publications. He also has published 84 internal NRC reports and 11 magazine articles. He was Editor of two SAE publications on wind tunnels and participated in an SAE/Department of Transportation (DOT) voluntary fuel economy study.

Cooper has been honored with a United States Presidential Citation for his work with the SAE/DOT truck and bus program. He also received the President's Medal of the Roads and Transportation Association of Canada, and he earned the title of Researcher Emeritus at NRC. He is a member of SAE International.

Cooper holds two bachelor's degrees from the University of Western Ontario, one in general arts and one in honors physics. He also holds a master's degree in subsonic aerodynamics from the University of Toronto's Institute for Aerospace Studies. He resides in Ottawa, Ontario.

Edzard Mercker Mercker is Managing Director of the Aerodynamics Division of aem-GmbH, a contractor of BMW Group. He works closely with BMW Group as an aerodynamic specialist for wind tunnel technology at the company's Aerodynamic Research Centre in Munich, Germany. He is also involved in the design and layout of BMW's new Climatic Research Centre. Previously, he worked at the German Aerospace Centre in Collon, Germany.

Mercker has published more than 50 technical papers. This is his second Colwell Merit Award. He also has received the NASA Group Achievement Award and three awards from the American Helicopter Society.

A member of SAE International, Mercker is also a member of the European Car Aerodynamic Research Association. He holds undergraduate, master's and doctorate degrees from Technical University Berlin, Germany. He resides in Munich, Germany.

For more information about SAE International's Arch T. Colwell Merit Award, please contact
Print | 
Email |  Comment   Share  
Contacts: View detailed contact information.


Post a comment about this story

(your e-mail address will not be posted)
Comment title:
To submit comment, enter the security code shown below and press 'Post Comment'.

 See related product stories
More .....
 See more product news in:
| Featured Manufacturing Jobs
 Other News from this company:
Daniel E. Williams Receives SAE International 2012 L. Ray Buckendale Lecture Award
Glen Albert Barton Receives 2012 SAE Subir Chowdhury Medal of Quality Leadership
SAE International Offers Technical Standards and Papers in Customizable Packages
Two Honored with SAE International Trevor O. Jones Award
SAE International's 10th Power Systems Conference to Focus on Energy Optimized Aircraft
More ....
 Tools for you
Watch Company 
View Company Profile
More news from this company
E-mail this story to a friend
Save Story
Search for suppliers of
Trade Associations

Home  |  My ThomasNet News®  |  Industry Market Trends®  |  Submit Release  |  Advertise  |  Contact News  |  About Us
Brought to you by        Browse ThomasNet Directory

Copyright © 2014 Thomas Publishing Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Use - Privacy Policy

Error close

Please enter a valid email address