ThomasNet News Logo
Sign Up | Log In | ThomasNet Home | Promote Your Business

ANSI Board names volunteer leaders for 2012.

Print | 
Email |  Comment   Share  
December 14, 2011 - ANSI announced new members and officers for term beginning Jan 1, 2012. James T. Pauley, senior VP of external affairs and government relations at Schneider Electric USA, was appointed chairman of the board for 1-year term. Supporting chairman will be 4 vice chairs: Kevan Lawlor, president and CEO of NSF International; David L. Miller, director of standards at API; Sharon K. Stanford, director, standards administration at ADA; and Belinda Collins, Ph.D., director, technology services for NIST.

ANSI Board Names Volunteer Leaders for 2012

(Archive News Story - Products mentioned in this Archive News Story may or may not be available from the manufacturer.)

American National Standards Institute (ANSI)
25 West 43rd Street, 4th Floor
New York, NY, 10036

Press release date: December 7, 2011

The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Board of Directors has announced its new members and officers for the term beginning January 1, 2012.

James T. Pauley, senior vice president of external affairs and government relations at Schneider Electric USA, was appointed as ANSI's new chairman of the board for a one-year term. Mr. Pauley most recently served as chairman of the Board's Finance Committee, and formerly as an ANSI Board vice chairman. He currently co-chairs the ANSI Electric Vehicles Standards Panel (EVSP) and holds leadership positions in numerous other industry organizations, including the National Electrical Manufacturers Association (NEMA) and the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA).

Arthur E. Cote, P.E., supported by NFPA, will step down from his current position as chairman on December 31, 2011, and will assume the role of immediate past chairman.

Supporting the chairman will be four vice chairs: Kevan Lawlor, president and CEO of NSF International; David L. Miller, director of standards at the American Petroleum Institute (API); Sharon K. Stanford, director, standards administration at the American Dental Association (ADA); and Belinda Collins, Ph.D., director, technology services for the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST).

The following individuals have been elected to the Board as directors-at-large for terms beginning January 1, 2012:

Dan Bart, president and chief executive officer, Valley View Corporation

GP Russ Chaney, chief executive officer, International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO)

Colin Church, voluntary standards coordinator, U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Donald R. Deutsch, vice president of standards strategy and architecture, Oracle Corporation

Mary K. Logan, president, Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation (AAMI)

Joseph M. McGuire, president, Association of Home Appliance Manufacturers (AHAM)

Stephen P. Oksala, vice president of standards, Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers (SCTE)

Bonnie Rose, president, CSA Standards at CSA Group

Gregory E. Saunders, director of the Defense Standardization Program Office, U.S. Department of Defense (DOD)

James A. Thomas, president, ASTM International

Kathleen A. Thuner, consumer representative, sponsored by the National Association of Consumer Agency Administrators (NACAA)

Andrew Updegrove, partner, Gesmer Updegrove LLP

Lee Webster, JD, MBA, Astd, director of HR standards, Society of Human Resource Management (SHRM)

In addition, the following Board members will serve as ANSI Member Forum chairs: R. David Pittle (Consumer Interest Forum), John Kulick (Company Member Forum), Mary McKiel (Government Member Forum), and Fred Hayes (Organizational Member Forum).

Individuals retiring from the Board at the end of 2011 include:

Kathy Apple, CEO, National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)

Linda Golodner, president emeritus, National Consumers League

Judy Gorman, managing director, IEEE Standards Association, IEEE

Carol Herman, director, standards management staff, Center for Devices and Radiological Health (CDRH) Standards Program, U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

Roberta Nelson Shea, consultant, Safety Compliance Services, LLC

Robert W. Noth, former manager of engineering and standards, Deere & Company

Jack Wells, vice president corporate development, Pass & Seymour/Legrand

Stephen Yurek, president, Air-Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute (AHRI)

The members and staff of the ANSI Federation express their gratitude and thanks to all of these individuals for their many contributions and efforts in support of the Institute and the U.S. voluntary consensus standardization and conformity assessment community.

About ANSI
The American National Standards Institute (ANSI) is a private non-profit organization whose mission is to enhance U.S. global competitiveness and the American quality of life by promoting, facilitating, and safeguarding the integrity of the voluntary standardization and conformity assessment system. Its membership is comprised of businesses, professional societies and trade associations, standards developers, government agencies, and consumer and labor organizations. The Institute represents the diverse interests of more than 125,000 companies and organizations and 3.5 million professionals worldwide.

The Institute is the official U.S. representative to the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and, via the U.S. National Committee, the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC), and is a U.S. representative to the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).
Print | 
Email |  Comment   Share  
Contacts: View detailed contact information.


Post a comment about this story

(your e-mail address will not be posted)
Comment title:
To submit comment, enter the security code shown below and press 'Post Comment'.

 See related product stories
More .....
 See more product news in:
 More New Product News from this company:
ANSI Website offers complete SAE International standards.
More ....
| Featured Manufacturing Jobs
 Other News from this company:
USNC Names Participants for 2014 IEC Young Professionals Workshop
ANSI-NSP Nanotechnology Standards Database Webinar Rescheduled for December 5
U.S. and German Standardizers Meet to Advance Transatlantic Trade Objectives
Reminder: Standards Simulation Workshop to Be Held November 19 in New York City
People on the Move
More ....
 Tools for you
Watch Company 
View Company Profile
Company web site
More news from this company
E-mail this story to a friend
Save Story
Search for suppliers of
Trade Associations

Home  |  My ThomasNet News®  |  Industry Market Trends®  |  Submit Release  |  Advertise  |  Contact News  |  About Us
Brought to you by        Browse ThomasNet Directory

Copyright © 2014 Thomas Publishing Company. All Rights Reserved.
Terms of Use - Privacy Policy

Error close

Please enter a valid email address